misty & the wildflowers

The Wildflowers Miniseries, Book 1 :
Misty (1999)
Novel © VC Andrews
Artwork © Lisa Falkenstern

   The Wildflowers Series was published in 1999, and was the second miniseries to be released under the VC Andrews name.

   It's the story of four girls (Misty, Star, Jade, and Cat) who are going through their parents' divorce and act out in harmful ways. As a result, they are each ordered to see a psychiatrist to work out their problems and be at peace with themselves and their lives. And unknown to them, they would meet in group therapy and become the closest of friends.

   The first book of the series is Misty and is narrated by Misty Foster. Her parents' divorce leaves her in the middle and simply a tool each parent uses against the other. Misty grows to hate her parents and decides to act out to get them to notice what they are doing to her.

   Misty becomes very affected by her parents' actions and their growing feud. They use her in cruel and hateful ways. She grows a little more hurt and hateful every day. Her friends drift away, her grades fall, and she is constantly in emotional pain.

   She gets involved in bad relationships. And finally she lashes out and tries to get her parents attention, and to stop their hurtful treatment.

   Misty is a strong and sensitive character. Through her therapy she is able to let go and become free of the past. She makes it through and becomes friends with the other girls in therapy. And the incredible friendship they form becomes her true family.